The Town of Fairview operates under a Council-Manager form of government. The Town Council consists of a Mayor and six Councilmembers that are volunteers elected at-large.

According to the Town of Fairview Charter, no person shall serve as Mayor for more than three successive terms, and no person shall serve as Councilmember for more than three successive terms. Their term of office shall be for a period of two years or any portion thereof.

La ciudad de Fairview opera bajo una forma del consejo-encargado de gobierno. El Ayuntamiento consiste en un alcalde y seis miembros del Consejo que hayan elegido en general.

De acuerdo con la Carta de Ciudad de Fairview, ninguna persona podrá servir como Alcalde por más de tres períodos sucesivos y ninguna persona podrá servir como miembro del Consejo durante más de tres períodos sucesivos. Su mandato será por un período de dos años o cualquier porción del mismo.

May 6, 2017 Town of Fairview General Election / 6 de mayo de 2017 Ciudad de Fairview Elección General

As all of the Town’s candidates for Mayor and Town Council in 2017 were unopposed after both the filing for a place on the ballot and the write-in candidate deadlines, at the Council meeting on March 7, 2017, the Town Council was able to cancel the Town’s regular May election for 2017. All the unopposed candidates were declared elected to their new office effective Saturday, May 6, 2017 (general election day in Texas).

Mayor Darion Culbertson was reelected to his third term as Mayor of the Town of Fairview; he will be term-limited from further consecutive reelection in May 2019.

Seat 1 will be filled by a new member of the Town Council, Bill Nicol. Nicol resides in Heritage Ranch; he has been a member of the Town’s EDC/CDC Board of Directors since 2014. Current Seat 1, Councilmember Ron Samuels will be retiring from his seat after serving the Town for the past four years.

Seat 3 will be filled by Henry Lessner. Lessner previously served on the Council in Seat 4 for six consecutive years from 2010 to 2016 including four years as Mayor Pro Tem. Current Seat 4, Councilmember Frank O’Reilly is moving from the Town of Fairview after serving on the Council for the past four years.

Finally, sitting Councilmember Paul Hendricks was also unopposed for Council Seat 5 and has been reelected to his third term on the Council; he will be term-limited from further consecutive reelection in May 2019.

The Town, the Town Staff as well as the rest of the Town Council would like to thank Councilmembers Samuels and O’Reilly for their years of dedicated service to the Town of Fairview. For more information about the election results, please visit the Town Elections page on


2016 Town Election Results

Access the County-wide official 2016 election results..

icon Unofficial Town of Fairview 2016 Election Results

Voting Locations

As Lovejoy ISD has a contested election, residents will still be able to vote in that race and any other local races at the Lovejoy ISD Administration Building, located at 259 Country Club Road during both Early Voting and Election Day. Early voting in Collin County goes from Monday, April 24 to Tuesday, May 2 at the times listed below. Election Day is Saturday, May 6, 2017 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. As the Town is not having an election, Fairview Town Hall will not be an Election Day polling place this year.

As Collin County uses Vote Centers, residents who are registered voters with an effective date on or before May 6, 2017 may vote at any of the additional Early Voting locations or Election Day vote centers that are open in Collin County under full contract services with the Collin County Elections Administration. Visit for more information regarding polling locations.

Early Voting Location



Collin County Election Office

(Main Early Voting Location)

2010 Redbud Blvd., #102


Lovejoy ISD Administration Bldg.

259 Country Club Road









April 23

April 24

8am – 5pm

April 25

8am – 5pm

April 26

8am – 5pm

April 27

8am - 7pm

April 28

8am - 5pm

April 29

8am - 5pm

April 30


May 1

7am – 7pm

May 2

7am – 7pm

May 3

May 4

May 5

May 6

7am – 7pm

Election Day



Absentee and By-Mail Voting / Ausente y Votación por Correo

Applications for ballot by mail should be mailed to / Las aplicaciones para votar por correo se deben enviar a la

Bruce Sherbet, Collin County Elections Administrator
Attn: Early Voting Clerk
2010 Redbud Blvd, Suite 102
McKinney, TX 75069

Applications for ballots by mail must be received by the County Elections Administrator no later than the close of business on April 20, 2017.
Las solicitudes para las boletas por correo deben ser recibidas por el Administrador de Elecciones del Condado a más tardar al cierre de los negocios el 20 de abril de 2017.

Learn more about absentee/by-mail voting and get an Absentee Ballot Appication on the Collin County Elections website.
Más información acerca de ausente / de voto por correo y obtener una appication de Voto Ausente en el sitio web de Elecciones del Condado de Collin.

Council Term Expirations / Vencimientos Plazo del Consejo

  • Seats 2, 4, 6 - May 2018
  • Mayor and Seats 1, 3, 5 - May 2019

Learn more about the Town's current Mayor and Councilmembers.


Council Qualifications / Calificaciones del Consejo

According to the Town of Fairview Charter Section 3.02, a Town Council candidate must:

  • Be a qualified voter of the town
  • Be twenty-one (21) years of age
  • Have resided in the town no less than twelve months immediately preceding election day
  • Meet the requirements of the Texas Election Code
  • Continually reside within the town during the term of office

De acuerdo con la ciudad de Fairview Carta Sección 3.02, un candidato Ayuntamiento debe:

  • Sea un votante calificado de la ciudad
  • De veintiún (21) años de edad
  • Haber residido en la ciudad no menos de doce meses inmediatamente anteriores a la jornada electoral
  • Cumplir con los requisitos del Código de Elecciones de Texas
  • Continuamente residir dentro de la ciudad durante la duración del mandato

2017 Notices

iconNotice of Deadline to File Applications for a Place on the Ballot for May 6, 2017 Election